Opened all year round, the ZOO Park in the east-Slovak town of Stropkov, situated in the Nízke Beskydy Mts., is an attractive cultural and educational facility, the only one of its kind in Slovakia.
Besides presenting various interesting foreign animal species in 40 volaries, the ZOO Park also fulfils the role of planet’s gene pool protection.
It is a place frequently visited mostly by children who enjoy its aesthetic design containing a great number of atypical children’s facilities, a fairy-tale-style snack bar called The Red Riding Hood, or the contact ZOO providing children with an opportunity to feed the animals. Moreover, it is fully accessible for the disabled.
Visitors, be they children or adults, may watch not only exotic animals, including beasts, turtles, birds of prey, ornamental poultry and reptiles, but also the beautiful and rare plants, bushes and trees.
This popular facility provides an opportunity for relaxation, learning, rest and sensibly spent leisure time of children and the youth in the heart of nature all year long.
The small town of Medzilaborce, situated in the south-east of Slovakia, boasts of two European primacies. After the establishment of the first museum named after Andy Warhol, Medzilaborce has also erected the first statue dedicated to this representative of world pop-art.
The green pearl of eastern Slovakia – the water reservoir Veľká Domaša, built on the river Ondava, is situated in the mountains Ondavská vrchovina. Warm climate of the lake favours water sports and fishing.
Na samom okraji zemplínskej obce Skrabské sa nachádza dávno opustený, spodnou vodou zaplavený lom, v ktorom sa v minulosti ťažili vápenité sliene.
Standing in the open mountain pass of Dukla on the Slovak-Polish border you can see an observation tower offering a spectacular view of the Slovak and Polish territory – the background scenery of the fights during the Carpathian-Dukla operation.
Hotel Zelená Lagúna **** is situated on the shores of one of the cleanest bodies of water in Slovakia – the Veľká Domaša Dam.
The Greek Catholic church of St Michael the Archangel from1752. The church consists of three parts. It also has a wooden belfry. The area was originally surrounded by log fence with a little shingle roof. Iconostas is from the second half of the 18th century. The icons Resurrection of Lazar, St. Michael and some other are from the 17th century. Iconostas and altar were restored in 1969-1970. The compound was reconstructed in 2001.
Monuments of folk architecture of material and spiritual culture of Ukrainians and Ruthenians are concentrated in an open-air ethnographic exposition that can be seen above an amphitheatre in the town of Svidník in northeastern Slovakia. A wooden church from Nová Polianka (Mergeška) is the gem of the exposition.
SNM - The Museum of Ukrainian Culture in Svidník is an ethnic institution whose mission resides in documenting the fundamental phases of cultural, historical, political and social development of Ruthenians - Ukrainians in Slovakia from earliest times up to the present.
The Greek Catholic wooden church of St. Paraskieva from 1766. It consists of three parts and three towers. Iconostas is from the mid-18th century. The building was dismantled in 1961 and rebuilt following documentation in 1986. Now it is part of the Museum of Ukrainian culture in Svidník.
The Military Museum in Svidník, eastern Slovakia, resides in the building whose shape reminds an anti-tank mine. This is so because its exhibition gives an interesting testimony of the course of the Carpathian and Dukla Operation in 1944.
The Greek Catholic wooden church of St Michael the Archangel (Chrám sv. Michala Archanjela) was included in 2008, along with seven wooden churches of the Slovak part of Carpathian Mountain Area, on the UNESCO Word Heritage List.
The Greek Catholic wooden church of theProtection of the Most Holy Mother of God from 1770. The log building consists of three parts and has three little towers. Wooden entrance gate with octagonal low roof covered by shingle stands in front of the church.
The Greek Catholic church of St Basil the Great from the 18th century (probably from 1730). The log building consists of three parts and is covered by shingle roof with three little towers. Part of this architectural compound is the log fence with shingle protective roof and wooden entrance gate. The Baroque iconostas is from the 18th century, individual icons are from the 17th century. Some picture (icon of St Michael the Archangel, St Nicolas, etc.) are from the 17th century.
The Greek Catholic wooden Church of St Nicolas (Chrám sv. Mikuláša) was included in 2008, along with seven wooden churches of the Slovak part of Carpathian Mountain Area, on the UNESCO Word Heritage List.
The Greek Catholic wooden church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God from the end of the 18th century. It was repaired in 1947. It consists of three parts. This Baroque log structure stands on low stone masonry. The original interior decoration is missing. Some precious icons have been deposited in the Museum of Šariš in Bardejov. The church stands in the cemetery with old crosses.
KIDSLANDIA 2019 Letný festival pre všetky deti s programom kde vystúpia: Veselé Zúbky - Bystrík, Robo Papp,Monika Haasova, Zuzka Haasova, Iveta Haulíková.. Zahrajko - Riško Čanaky Hugo Sníček a TV Rik Ujo Ľubo Tárajko a Popletajka Usmievanka Divadelné predstavenie Polepetko Etudy Klauni Maľovanie na tvár Tanečné workshopy Nafukovacie atrakcie, šmýkačky, atrakcie Dostupná aj jediná piesková pláž autokempingu Tíšava na Domaši - vezmite si aj plavky.