1
2

Vyšný Komárnik - church of Sts Cosmo and Damian

Church, Monumnet, Architecture

The Greek Catholic wooden church of Sts Cosmo and Damian from 1924. It is a three-space church with a three-tier tower. The interior of the church and iconostas are from the time when the church was built.

Loading map...
090 05Vyšný Komárnik
Show Navigation

Online Services


Operation Times

Operation times unavailable.

Weather Forecast

Today
Light rain icon
Light rain
12°C/ 5°CDay / Night
Moderate breeze, 7m/s
Northwest
Tomorrow
Clear sky icon
Clear sky
12°C/ 3°CDay / Night
Gentle breeze, 5m/s
Northwest
Friday
Light rain icon
Light rain
11°C/ 3°CDay / Night
Gentle breeze, 3m/s
Northwest
Saturday
Scattered clouds icon
Scattered clouds
15°C/ 3°CDay / Night
Light air, 1m/s
Northeast
Sunday
Clear sky icon
Clear sky
16°C/ 4°CDay / Night
Gentle breeze, 5m/s
South
Monday
Overcast clouds icon
Overcast clouds
17°C/ 8°CDay / Night
Moderate breeze, 6m/s
South
Tuesday
Heavy rain icon
Heavy rain
12°C/ 11°CDay / Night
Light breeze, 3m/s
Northwest

Places Around

Dukla Pass Observation Tower

Dukla Pass Observation Tower

Standing in the open mountain pass of Dukla on the Slovak-Polish border you can see an observation tower offering a spectacular view of the Slovak and Polish territory – the background scenery of the fights during the Carpathian-Dukla operation.

Andy Warhol´s Fountain (Medzilaborce)

Andy Warhol´s Fountain (Medzilaborce)

The small town of Medzilaborce, situated in the south-east of Slovakia, boasts of two European primacies. After the establishment of the first museum named after Andy Warhol, Medzilaborce has also erected the first statue dedicated to this representative of world pop-art.

ZOO PARK in Stropkov

ZOO PARK in Stropkov

Opened all year round, the ZOO Park in the east-Slovak town of Stropkov, situated in the Nízke Beskydy Mts., is an attractive cultural and educational facility, the only one of its kind in Slovakia.

Alnus Penzion

Alnus Penzion

Alnus Pension is located close to the border with Poland and 2.5 mi from the Nizna Polianka Ski Resort. It is provided with a café and elegant accommodations with free WiFi.

Nižný Komárnik - Greek Catholic wooden church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God

Nižný Komárnik - Greek Catholic wooden church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God

The Greek Catholic wooden church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of Godfrom 1938 was built to the design of the Ukrainian architect and researcher involved with popular architecture V. Sichynsky. It is a typical structure of Boyko type, one-nave log building standing on taller masonry. The interior decoration is from the time when the church was built, but its iconostas is from the 18th century.

Príkra - church of St Michael the Archangel

Príkra - church of St Michael the Archangel

The Greek Catholic wooden church of St Michael the Archangel from 1777. The log building consists of three parts. Iconostas is from the mid-18th century, some icons are from the 17th century. Iconostas is a wooden polychromatic architecture with four rows of icons and tsar gate ornamented by woodcarvings and paint. It is from the mid-18th century. Some icons (Mandylion, St Michael, St Nicolas) are from the 17th century. The church was completely restored in 2001.

Korejovce - church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God

Korejovce - church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God

The Greek Catholic church of the Protection of the Most Holy Mother of God from 1764. The log building consists of three parts. It is covered by shingle roof with three little towers. Iconostas from the second half of the 18th century is not complete. Only fragments exist, such as picture of Mother of God from the second half of the 18th century. The tsar gate is lavishly decorated by woodcarvings with plant ornaments and paintings of prophets. Independently standing belfry from 1949 is next to the church. Both structures were reconstructed in 2000.

Bodružal – Church of St Nicolas

Bodružal – Church of St Nicolas

The Greek Catholic wooden Church of St Nicolas (Chrám sv. Mikuláša) was included in 2008, along with seven wooden churches of the Slovak part of Carpathian Mountain Area, on the UNESCO Word Heritage List.

Hunkovce - church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God

Hunkovce - church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God

The Greek Catholic wooden church of the Sleeping Most Holy Mother of God from the end of the 18th century. It was repaired in 1947. It consists of three parts. This Baroque log structure stands on low stone masonry. The original interior decoration is missing. Some precious icons have been deposited in the Museum of Šariš in Bardejov. The church stands in the cemetery with old crosses.

Krajné Čierno - church of St Basil the Great

Krajné Čierno - church of St Basil the Great

The Greek Catholic church of St Basil the Great from the 18th century (probably from 1730). The log building consists of three parts and is covered by shingle roof with three little towers. Part of this architectural compound is the log fence with shingle protective roof and wooden entrance gate. The Baroque iconostas is from the 18th century, individual icons are from the 17th century. Some picture (icon of St Michael the Archangel, St Nicolas, etc.) are from the 17th century.

Dobroslava - Greek Catholic wooden church of St Paraskieva

Dobroslava - Greek Catholic wooden church of St Paraskieva

he Greek Catholic wooden church of St Paraskieva from 1705. It is a log building with three spaces and a new diagonal nave on tall stone masonry. The church was rebuilt in 1932 when it acquired the form as we know it now, with to lateral chapels. The church was reconstructed in 2002. Its Baroque interior and iconostas are from the mid-18th century. The iconostas with the subject of the New Testament, figures of Apostles, Prophets and other Saints was restored. More artistic and historic icons and objects complement the interior of the church.

Miroľa - Greek Catholic wooden church

Miroľa - Greek Catholic wooden church

The Greek Catholic wooden church of theProtection of the Most Holy Mother of God from 1770. The log building consists of three parts and has three little towers. Wooden entrance gate with octagonal low roof covered by shingle stands in front of the church.

Events Around